Dozens honored at Leading with the Heart event
Dozens honored at Leading with the Heart event
Posted on 02/28/2017
Johnston County Schools honored 52 employees for going above and beyond in and outside of the classroom at the district’s annual “Leading with the Heart” reception. Johnston County Schools honored 52 employees for going above and beyond in and outside of the classroom at the district’s annual “Leading with the Heart” reception. 

The event, which is inspired from Mike Krzyewski’s book, “Leading with the Heart,” recognizes employees throughout the school system that demonstrate leadership, compassion, and heart on a daily basis.

Each school and central services department selects one person from their staff to be honored at this special event. Those who were recognized all take pride in their work, are meticulous in their work ethic, and are mentors and good role models. Honorees often volunteer for extra work duties, or they volunteer in the community. They are generous and constantly look for ways to help others, are consistently reliable, respectful, determined and passionate.

During the celebratory reception, each honoree was recognized by having highlights of his or her appreciated service read. Recipients were also presented with a commemorative Leading with the Heart pin and thanked for their service to Johnston County Schools by Board of Education Chairman Michael C. Wooten, Vice-Chair Dorothy Johnson, and fellow board members, as well as Superintendent Dr. Ross Renfrow. 

2017 Leading with the Heart Recipients:

Archer Lodge Middle - Tobias Hocutt
Benson Elementary - June Aycock
Benson Middle - Takisha Henry
Clayton High - Melinda Whitley
Clayton Middle - Catherine Taylor
Cleveland Elementary - Nicole Shepard
Cleveland High - Joseph Capps
Cleveland Middle - Rachel Carter
Cooper Elementary - Kate Rizzo
Corinth Holders High - Shelly Pinkowski
Corinth-Holders Elementary - Vanessa Batts
Dixon Road Elementary - Alison Deese
East Clayton Elementary - Susan Topoly
Four Oaks Elementary - Allison Tucker
Four Oaks Middle - Barbara Ashworth
Glendale-Kenly Elementary - Kelly Holland
J.C. Career & Technical Leadership Academy - Kelly Jones
J.C. Early College Academy - Sarah Holmes
J.C. Middle College High - Melanie Williams
McGee’s Crossroads Elementary - Maria Rojas Castro
McGee’s Crossroads Middle  - Maria Bauza
Meadow School - Heather Sutton
Micro Elementary - Mandy Yelverton
North Johnston High - Sylvia Hines
North Johnston Middle - Teresa Richardson
Pine Level Elementary - Angie Pike
Polenta Elementary - Pamela Martinez
Powhatan Elementary - Crystal Jackson
Princeton Elementary - Hollie Heller
Princeton Middle/High - Pat Deese
River Dell Elementary - Jenny Hudson
Riverwood Elementary - Laura Epting
Riverwood Middle - Lee Ann Parrish
Selma Elementary - Brenda Stallings
Selma Middle - Janet Lee
Smithfield Middle - Alex Gundler
Smithfield-Selma High - Lisa Ivey
South Campus High - Donna Chapman
South Campus Middle - Evelyn Sanders
South Johnston High - William Weaver
South Smithfield Elementary - Jennifer Narron-Hardy
West Clayton Elementary - Tonya Smith
West Johnston High - Robert Cawthorn
West Smithfield Elementary - Alejandro Ceballos
West View Elementary - Michelle Oliver
Wilson’s Mills Elementary - Cory Merle
Administrative Services - Tabitha Lee
Curriculum, Instruction and Accountability - Gladys Pineda
Human Resources Services - Shannon McCleave
Innovation and Strategic Development - Ashleigh Gibson
Operations - Bill Wood
Student Services - Serreda Jenkins

PHOTO: Johnston County Schools honored 52 employees who demonstrate good character and go above and beyond in and outside of the classroom at the annual “Leading with the Heart” reception on Feb. 9. Those recognized on the front row (from left) are Brenda Stallings, Tabitha Lee, Maria Rojas Castro, Gladys Pineda, Evelyn Sanders, Rachel Carter, Donna Chapman, Ashleigh Gibson, and Pamela Martinez. Those recognized on the second row (from left) are Jenny Hudson, Laura Eptin, Kate Rizzo, Nicole Shepard, Barbara Ashworth, Tonya Smith, Heather Sutton, Vanessa Batts, Susan Topoly, Alison Deese, and June Aycock. Those recognized on the third row (from left) are Shelly Pinkowski, Cory Merle, Catherine Taylor, Sarah Holmes, Michelle Oliver, Hollie Heller, Crystal Jackson, Serreda Jenkins, Lee Ann Parrish, Jennifer Narron Hardy, and Janet Lee. Those recognized on the third row (from left) are William Weaver, Bill Wood, Kelly Jones, Sylvia Hines, Pat Deese, Joseph Capps, Mandy Yelverton, Angie Pike, and Melinda Whitley. Those recognized on the fourth row (from left) are Maria Bauza, Alejandro Ceballos, Lisa Ivey, Shannon McCleave, Teresa Richardson, Allison Tucker, Takisha Henry, and Alex Gundler. Those recognized on back row (from left) are Melanie Williams, Robert Cawthorn, and Tobias Hocutt.

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2017 West Corporation. All rights reserved.